Tuesday, October 31, 2017

All Saints, All Souls, and First Friday

Lists below are for Wednesday, November 1 (All Saints - a Holy Day of Obligation), Thursday, November 2 (All Souls), and Friday, November 3 (First Friday).

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Sunday XXIX at Sacred Heart
with Guest Organists

This weekend, I will be out of state, attending my son's wedding.  However, we still have music, thanks to three fine substitute organists.  They are: Stephen Higgins (5:00 on Saturday), Paul Boucher (7:30 and 9:00 on Sunday), and Christopher Souza (11:15 on Sunday).

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

The Three-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

No, I don't mean Saturday, Sunday, and Labor Day.  I mean First Friday, Saturday, and Sunday!

Sunday, August 20, 2017

It Doesn't Have to Be that Way

The late great singer-songwriter Jim Croce wrote a song called It Doesn't Have to Be that Way, which was included in his album Life and Times, the album that included the hit Bad, Bad Leroy Brown.  Though not a Christmas song, It Doesn't Have to Be that Way gets a lot of airplay on mainstream radio during Advent.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Sunday XX and the Patrons of Fornelli

This Saturday's 5 PM Mass is our "Italian Heritage" Mass, in which we commemorate two patron saints (SS. Peter the Martyr and Dominic the Abbot) from Fornelli, Italy, the birthplace of much of our parish's ancestry.

Friday, August 11, 2017

The 3-out-of-4-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

You heard that right!  Four-day weekend, almost!  Saturday and Sunday for the Nineteenth Sunday of the Year, and Tuesday for the Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, a Holy Day of Obligation.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

The Three-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

First Friday (Sacred Heart Community Mass), which is also the feast of St. John Vianney, plus this weekend, in which we celebrate the fixed date (August 6) feast of the Transfiguration of Our Lord, which trumps the 18th Sunday of the Year.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Another Three-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

This Friday, we celebrate the Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, the patronal feast of our parish.  Mass will be at 7 PM, and we will have Mass, Litany, and Benediction.  We will also have our brass trio for one more round until August.

Thursday, June 8, 2017

The Most Holy Trinity at Sacred Heart

- O Most Holy Trinity, undivided Unity, holy God, mighty God, God immortal, be adored!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Confirmation, Ascension, and VII Easter

Yes, folks, we in the Diocese of Providence celebrate Ascension on its true day, 40 days after Easter, that is, a Thursday, and a Holy Day of Obligation.  That means Sunday is the Seventh Sunday of Easter.

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

The Three-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

And an action-packed three-day weekend it is!  Our First Friday Sacred Heart Community Mass as usual, followed by Palm Sunday of the Lord's Passion.  At the Saturday 5 PM Mass and the Sunday 9 and 11:15 AM Masses, we will be joined by our brass trio!

Thursday, March 16, 2017

III Lent and St. Joseph at Sacred Heart

In addition to this Sunday's Masses, we have the Solemnity of St. Joseph, Spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Normally, this falls on March 19, but since that date falls on a Sunday in Lent, it is moved to Monday, March 20.  On that day, we have one Mass at 9 AM, followed by zeppoles (yummy!) downstairs!

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Three-Day Weekend at Sacred Heart

This Friday, we have our First Friday Mass at 6 PM.  It is not only the Friday after Ash Wednesday, but also the Optional Memorial for Saint Katharine Drexel.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Three Ash Wednesday Masses and a Funeral

Masses for Ash Wednesday at Sacred Heart are at 9 AM, 12 noon, and 6:30 PM, with a 10 AM funeral Mass in between.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Sunday VII at Sacred Heart

Wow!  Time is flying!  Ash Wednesday isn't until March 1 this year, but the last 46 days have just FLOWN (and NO, not on eagle's wings, either!).

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Second of Two Three-Day Weekends

Last week's three-day weekend consisted of a Friday night Holy Hour honoring an image of Our Lady of Guadalupe, plus the regular weekend Masses.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Holy Hour and Sunday IV

This Friday we have a special Holy Hour at 7 PM in honor of the Miraculous Missionary Image of Our Lady of Guadalupe.  The format is the same as our usual Marian Devotions we have in May and October.

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

The First Three-Day Weekend of 2017 at Sacred Heart

This three-day weekend consists of the First Friday (January 6: Optional Memorial of Saint Andre Bessette) and this weekend (January 7/8: Solemnity of the Epiphany of the Lord).