Saturday, April 7, 2007


A slightly different path

It's not quite noon yet as I write this, so mellow mode continues here.

First, let's remind our readers of the traditional Stations of the Cross as many still know it:
1. Jesus is condemned to death
2. Jesus accepts the cross
3. Jesus falls the first time
4. Jesus meets His afflicted Mother
5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carries the cross
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
7. Jesus falls the second time
8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
9. Jesus falls the third time
10. Jesus is stripped of His garments
11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
12. Jesus dies on the cross
13. Jesus' is taken down from the cross
14. Jesus is laid in the Sepulchur

Here are the Stations, as led by Pope Benedict XVI yesterday in the Colosseum (and led by Pope John Paul II in 1991). It's a bit different, but not bad either.
1. Jesus in the Garden of Olives
2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested
3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin (#1 in traditional stations)
4. Jesus is denied by Peter
5. Jesus is judged by Pilate
6. Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns
7. Jesus takes up his cross (#2 in traditional stations)
8. Jesus is helped by the Cyrenean to carry his cross (#5 in traditional stations)
9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem (#8 in traditional stations)
10. Jesus is crucified (#11 in traditional stations)
11. The crucified Jesus, the Mother, and the disciple
12. Jesus promises his kingdom to the good thief
13. Jesus dies on the cross (#12 in traditional stations)
14. Jesus is laid in the tomb (#14 in traditional stations as well)

Red Sox cap tip to Gerald.



Lawrence Gage said...

I'm wondering why you list "Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin" as "#1 in traditional stations." The Sanhedrin aren't even mentioned in the versions of the stations I know of (e.g., that of St. Alphonsus Ligouri).

Happy Easter!


Brian Michael Page said...

Not so much the Sanhedrin but that Jesus is condemned.
Happy Easter