...in Massachusetts. Hat tip to Domini Sumus, who is music director at a parish just minutes from my parish. She also researched the year it was passed in reply to a comment I left on her post.
Chapter 272: Section 36. Blasphemy
Section 36. Whoever wilfully blasphemes the holy name of God by denying, cursing or contumeliously reproaching God, his creation, government or final judging of the world, or by cursing or contumeliously reproaching Jesus Christ or the Holy Ghost, or by cursing or contumeliously reproaching or exposing to contempt and ridicule, the holy word of God contained in the holy scriptures shall be punished by imprisonment in jail for not more than one year or by a fine of not more than three hundred dollars, and may also be bound to good behavior.
Of course, in 1648, the year the law was passed, $300 was a lot of bucks. Now it's hardly a week's pay. But, believe it or not, it's still in the books, despite some of the most liberal of politicians in Massachusetts (like a couple of certain U.S. Senators, both supposedly Catholic, both pro-abortion). Someone should gather up little ultimatums with a copy of this law, send them in big batches to both Sen. Kennedy and Sen. Kerry with a little sticky note saying, "Remember, you owe the Lord $300". Now I'll have to see if Rhode Island has any such law. Hmmmmmmmmm! Who can we bag?